SAP Business One Review: Manufacturing Included, Price Set by Your Partner
SAP Business One bundles production, MRP and projects but publishes no price and lacks native consolidation. Who it fits and what it reportedly costs.

SAP Business One is SAP’s ERP for small businesses and the lower midmarket, sold and supported entirely through partners, and its distinguishing trait is how much comes in the subscription: production, MRP, inventory, service and project management are all bundled rather than priced as modules. It suits a single-entity company that makes or moves physical goods, and it is the one system in its class you can still buy as a perpetual license and run on your own servers. Skip it if you need consolidated statements across several legal entities or ASC 606 contract revenue inside the system, or if you want a published price.
The short version: a broad, manufacturing-ready ERP whose cost depends on the mix of user types and the partner who sells it. This SAP Business One review covers what SAP’s own contract documents confirm, what third parties report it costs, and where it stops.
SAP Business One at a glance
| Item | SAP Business One |
|---|---|
| Type | Own general ledger; full ERP suite with production and MRP included |
| Best for | Single-entity manufacturers, distributors and wholesalers that want operations in one system |
| Pricing (as of September 2026) | No published price. Reported cloud rates for a full user run $95 to $250 a month; perpetual licenses about $3,200 to $5,500 per full user |
| Users | Named users by type; at least 3 Professional Users on the Professional edition, 3 to 5 users on Starter |
| Deployment | Cloud subscription, on-premises perpetual license, or hybrid, through a partner |
| Notable limits | No consolidation or intercompany module in the bundle; version 10.0 mainstream maintenance ends December 31, 2028 |
| Not ideal for | Multi-entity groups, subscription businesses with ASC 606 complexity, buyers who want to price software without a sales process |
What SAP Business One does
A wide bundle in one subscription
SAP’s Business One Cloud Supplement, the contract document that governs the cloud subscription, lists the modules included at no extra fee: Administration, Financials, Sales and A/R, Purchasing and A/P, Banking, Inventory, Production, MRP, HR, Opportunities, Business Partner, Resources, Service and Project Management, plus runtime SAP Crystal Reports for reporting. That list is the main argument for the product. Several competitors price manufacturing, projects or service as separate modules or higher license tiers; Business One does not.
Finance
The Financials and Banking modules cover the general ledger, payables and receivables, fixed assets, cash management and matching of bank feeds. SAP says Business One is available in 28 languages with 50 country localizations.
Inventory and warehousing
Inventory is included and covers multiple warehouses, bin locations nested up to four sublevels, and serial and batch tracking.
Production and MRP
Production and MRP are in the bundle, so bills of material, production orders and material planning are part of the base product. There is a licensing catch: the Supplement requires a Professional User to work with Production and MRP, so each planner or production supervisor who uses those screens needs the most expensive seat type.
Projects, service and customer management
Project Management is bundled, with budgets, phases and time tracking against resources. The Opportunities and Business Partner modules give a native sales pipeline and opportunity tracking, and a Service module is included as well. The CRM side is basic next to a dedicated CRM product, but it is included.
Mobile and integrations
The Supplement defines a Mobile Application User for the SAP Business One Sales and SAP Business One Service apps, and an Indirect Access User for API connections with no user interface. It also treats machine connections used by non-employees as an “Instance” rather than a user, with no additional license fee under the conditions it sets out. Read those conditions with your partner before connecting outside systems.
Deployment and database
The cloud service is the version for SAP HANA, per the Supplement. On-premises installations can also run on Microsoft SQL Server, according to partner MTC Systems, and cloud, on-premises and hybrid are all offered. In the cloud, SAP does not operate the environment for you directly: hosting providers and hyperscalers coordinated by your partner run it, and the Supplement’s responsibility matrix gives the partner end-user provisioning, tenant management, testing and first-line support.
SAP Business One pricing
SAP publishes no price list for Business One. Every figure below is reported by the named third party, as of September 2026. None is an SAP price, and the sources disagree in places. Our SAP Business One pricing page works through them in more detail.
License types, from SAP’s own contract
| User type | What it allows |
|---|---|
| Professional User | Full access; required to administer company settings and to use Production and MRP |
| Limited User | Restricted to one role: CRM, Financial or Logistic |
| Starter Package User | Operational roles on the Starter edition; 3 to 5 users, one company, cannot be mixed with other types |
| Mobile Application User | The Sales or Service mobile apps only |
| Indirect Access User | API access with no user interface |
All are named licenses assigned to a person. The Professional edition requires at least 3 Professional Users and includes two companies. Some partner pages quote a five-user minimum for a one-year cloud commitment, which conflicts with SAP’s Supplement, so ask any seller quoting five where the number comes from.
Reported rates
| License | ERP Research | CostBench (verified August 31, 2026) | H&CO (updated December 12, 2024) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Professional User, cloud, per month | $95 to $250 | $188 multi-tenant, $219 single-tenant | $185 multi-tenant, $140 single-tenant |
| Professional User, perpetual, once | $3,500 to $5,500 | $3,213 | $3,200 |
| Limited User, cloud, per month | Not stated | $112 multi-tenant, $158 single-tenant | $145 multi-tenant, $100 single-tenant |
| Limited User, perpetual, once | Not stated | $1,666 | $1,650 |
| Starter Package User | Not stated | $110 a month, or $1,357 perpetual | $1,350 perpetual |
The perpetual figures agree closely: CostBench’s $3,213 and H&CO’s $3,200 for a Professional User are effectively the same number. The hosting premium does not. CostBench reports single-tenant hosting as the more expensive and H&CO reports the opposite, so have a partner price both rather than assuming a direction. H&CO’s figures are the oldest here.
What that means for a small team. Five Professional and five Limited Users on CostBench’s multi-tenant rates is (5 x $188) + (5 x $112) = $1,500 a month, or $18,000 a year. On H&CO’s multi-tenant rates the same team is (5 x $185) + (5 x $145) = $1,650 a month, or $19,800 a year. Those are illustrations built from reported figures, not quotes.
What sits outside the license
- Implementation. ERP Research reports a multiplier of 1.5 to 3 times first-year software cost for a standard project and 3 to 5 times for a complex one. H&CO reports an express tier with no customization at $2,500 to $5,000, rising above $100,000 for large customized projects. On the $18,000 example above, ERP Research’s standard multiplier means $27,000 to $54,000.
- Maintenance on perpetual licenses, reported at 18 to 22 percent of the net license fee a year by CostBench and ERP Research.
- Hosting and servers. In the cloud, the partner arranges hosting. On-premises, the servers, database licensing and administration are yours.
- Consolidation. Vision33 sells an InterCompany add-on for Business One as a third-party product, and SAP separately licenses an Intercompany Integration Solution.
The totals sources report vary widely with company size. ERP Research puts total cost of ownership at $50,000 to $250,000, with a 25-user, three-year example near $175,000, while CostBench reports a median contract of $5,000 a year based on what it describes as 180 verified purchases. The median likely reflects the smallest deployments near the three-user minimum; the six-figure numbers describe mid-market projects with implementation included.
Limitations
- No published price. Every number comes from a partner quote or a third-party estimate, and they vary by region, partner and deal size. You cannot budget accurately before a sales process.
- No native consolidation. No consolidation or intercompany module appears in the Supplement’s bundled list. A group with several legal entities adds a third-party or separately licensed product, plus the work of keeping it in step.
- ASC 606 is not a documented feature. SAP documents its Revenue Accounting and Reporting product for S/4HANA and ECC rather than for Business One. If contract revenue recognition matters, ask a partner to demonstrate it in Business One before signing.
- Seat type drives cost. Production and MRP need Professional Users, so a manufacturer cannot put its planners on cheaper Limited seats. The Starter edition stops at five users and cannot be mixed with other types, so growing past it means changing the contract, not adding a seat.
- A fixed version clock. SAP states that release 10.0 is the only version in mainstream maintenance, until December 31, 2028, that it provides at least five years of mainstream maintenance per release family, and that “Extended maintenance is not offered for SAP Business One releases and applications.” A perpetual buyer should plan an upgrade inside any five-year horizon.
- No published renewal cap. SAP’s 2026 support-fee policy, which ties increases to inflation with a 5 percent ceiling, covers SAP ECC and S/4HANA, not Business One, according to Redress Compliance. Negotiate the renewal rate and maintenance percentage into the contract.
- Partner dependency. SAP says more than 850 partners handle implementation, customization, localization and compliance, and under the Supplement the partner is your primary support contact. The quality of the partner decides much of the outcome.
Who SAP Business One is for
It fits well when:
- The company makes products and wants bills of material, production orders and MRP in the same system as the ledger, without paying for a manufacturing module.
- Warehouse control matters: multiple warehouses, bins, serial and batch tracking.
- There is one legal entity, or a group small enough to consolidate outside the system.
- The business wants to own its licenses and run on its own servers, which Business One allows through a perpetual license.
- Operations span countries covered by SAP’s 50 localizations.
Look elsewhere when:
- Several subsidiaries need consolidation with eliminations every month.
- Revenue comes from multi-element contracts that need ASC 606 allocation.
- The finance team needs a published per-user price to budget from.
- The business is small enough that QuickBooks Online still works; its Advanced plan allows 25 users, and an ERP implementation at 1.5 to 3 times the software cost is hard to justify before that point.
How SAP Business One compares
- Microsoft Dynamics 365 Business Central: publishes $80 per user a month for Essentials and $110 for Premium, which adds manufacturing, paid yearly as of September 2026, and consolidates natively, though Microsoft documents eliminations as manual. It is sold only through Microsoft’s CSP partners as a subscription; Business One keeps the perpetual, on-premises route.
- Oracle NetSuite: stronger for multi-entity groups through OneWorld, but prices manufacturing as a module and adds a reported base platform fee on top of seats. Our NetSuite alternatives guide sets Business One among the other options.
- Acumatica: also sold through partners with no published price, but offers consumption licensing tied to transaction volume and publishes a 10 percent cap on annual renewal increases.
- Sage Intacct: finance-led, with paid consolidation options and no inventory of its own, the opposite trade from Business One.
For the full shortlists, see the best ERP for manufacturing and the best ERP for small business. Every head-to-head we have published is on the comparisons index.
Frequently Asked Questions
How much does SAP Business One cost?
SAP publishes no price. As of September 2026, CostBench reports a Professional User at $188 a month multi-tenant and $219 single-tenant, ERP Research reports $95 to $250, and H&CO reported $185 and $140 in December 2024. Perpetual Professional licenses are reported at about $3,200 to $5,500 each, plus 18 to 22 percent a year in maintenance.
Is SAP Business One cloud or on-premises?
Both. The cloud service is a subscription governed by SAP’s Cloud Supplement and runs on the SAP HANA version of the product, hosted through your partner. On-premises deployments use a perpetual license with annual maintenance and can run on SAP HANA or Microsoft SQL Server, and hybrid setups are also offered.
Does SAP Business One include manufacturing?
Yes. Production and MRP are in the list of modules SAP bundles into the cloud subscription at no extra fee. Users who work with them need a Professional User license, the most expensive seat type.
Can SAP Business One consolidate multiple companies?
Not natively. No consolidation or intercompany module is in the bundled list. Vision33 sells a third-party InterCompany add-on and SAP separately licenses an Intercompany Integration Solution, so a group structure adds cost and a further product to manage.
How long is each SAP Business One version supported?
SAP states that release 10.0 is in mainstream maintenance until December 31, 2028, that the 8.x and 9.x releases have left mainstream maintenance, and that extended maintenance is not offered for Business One. Plan an upgrade before a release reaches its end date.
Sources
13 links
- SAP Business One Cloud Supplement, enGLOBAL v7-2022
- SAP Support: Business One maintenance
- SAP News: global success of SAP Business One (December 15, 2025)
- Microsoft: Dynamics 365 Business Central pricing
- Microsoft Learn: consolidated company reporting
- Oracle NetSuite Help: OneWorld overview
- QuickBooks Online pricing
- ERP Research: SAP Business One pricing
- CostBench: SAP Business One
- H&CO: SAP Business One pricing and costs
- MTC Systems: SAP Business One deployment options
- Vision33: InterCompany for SAP Business One
- Redress Compliance: SAP support and maintenance 2026


