Puzzle Review: AI-Native Accounting Built for Startups
Puzzle is an AI-native general ledger for startups, with plans from $30 a month and optional bookkeeping services. Features, pricing and limitations.

Puzzle is an accounting system built for startups. It is a full general ledger that connects to the tools young companies already use (Stripe, Mercury, Brex, Ramp, Gusto, Rippling), categorizes transactions as they stream in, and reports the numbers founders and investors ask for, such as burn, runway and recurring revenue, alongside standard financial statements.
Puzzle was co-founded by Sasha Orloff and John Cwikla and says it has raised $50 million in total, including a $30 million round in November 2023 led by S32 and XYZ Capital, with General Catalyst and Felicis among the participants. On September 2, 2026, Accrual announced it would acquire Puzzle’s accounting-firm technology and business, with Orloff and the team behind that work joining Accrual. Terms were not disclosed, the deal was expected to close within weeks, and the announcement says the platform will continue to operate independently for the startups and small businesses that use it directly.
The short version: Puzzle is a strong fit for a venture-backed or bootstrapped software startup that wants investor-ready numbers without a full-time accountant. The ownership change is worth watching: existing customers should expect the product to continue, but should keep an eye on its roadmap.
Puzzle at a Glance
| Feature | Details |
|---|---|
| Type | AI-native general ledger (replaces QuickBooks or Xero) |
| Best for | Early-stage and growth-stage startups, especially SaaS |
| Pricing | Software $30–$360/month, 20% off on annual billing above Starter; bookkeeping services from $171/month |
| Accounting basis | Cash and accrual side by side, from the $30 Starter plan |
| Integrations | Stripe, Mercury, Brex, Ramp, Gusto, Rippling and others |
| Not ideal for | Inventory businesses; anyone who needs published transaction limits before signing up |
What Puzzle Does
Real-time ledger
Transactions flow in continuously from connected accounts and are categorized automatically; Puzzle claims up to 98% automated categorization. Cash and accrual books are kept side by side on every plan, including the $30 Starter plan, so a startup can report cash burn to the board and accrual financials to its auditors from one system.
Startup metrics
Because Stripe and payroll data land directly in the ledger, Puzzle reports recurring revenue, burn rate and runway from the books themselves, instead of from a separate spreadsheet that drifts from them.
AI review
The higher plans include AI credits for an accuracy review that checks the books for likely errors before a close, plus AI-assisted insights.
Revenue recognition
From the Complete plan up, Puzzle builds deferred revenue schedules from Stripe subscriptions, BILL invoices, Mercury payouts and manually uploaded contracts, maps them to deferred revenue accounts and posts the amortization to the ledger. Each schedule stays linked to the underlying source record, so an auditor can click from the journal entry back to the Stripe event or invoice behind it. Puzzle does not claim ASC 606 compliance for this anywhere on its site, which is worth checking with them if your auditors expect it.
Subledgers
The Scale plan adds subledgers and removes transaction limits, for companies with more volume and more complex revenue.
Puzzle Pricing
As of September 2026, Puzzle sells software on its own and software with bookkeeping services.
Software plans (do it yourself):
| Plan | Price (monthly) | Includes |
|---|---|---|
| Starter | $30/month | One seat, auto-categorization, cash and accrual books, financial statements, 25 lifetime AI credits |
| Core | $72/month | Five seats, multi-entity support, spend and revenue tracking, advanced reporting |
| Complete | $120/month | Unlimited seats, revenue recognition, classes, departments and projects, AI accuracy review, 100 AI credits a month |
| Scale | $360/month | Unlimited seats, subledgers, no transaction or integration limits, 300 AI credits |
Annual billing saves 20% on Core, Complete and Scale. No annual price is shown for Starter.
Two limits are worth knowing before you pick a plan. Revenue recognition arrives on Complete at $120 a month, not earlier. And because Scale is defined as the plan that removes transaction and integration limits, those limits exist on Starter, Core and Complete; Puzzle does not publish the numbers, so ask for them if your volume is high.
Services: Expert-reviewed bookkeeping starts at $171 a month for companies with up to $10,000 in monthly expenses, and covers a monthly close plus up to three bookkeeping questions a month. Full-service bookkeeping, with a named bookkeeper running the close and unlimited email questions, is priced by expense tier.
Add-ons include a $149 migration from QuickBooks or Xero, catch-up bookkeeping from $300 per month of books behind, R&D studies at 1.5% of qualified research expenses, and tax filing from $1,250 a year. Puzzle’s marketing pages also offer “completely free migration support”, which sits oddly next to the $149 migration price on its own pricing page; the published price is the one to plan around. Puzzle offers a money-back guarantee if the month-end close is not 50% faster within 60 days, subject to conditions.
Who Puzzle Is For
- Seed to Series B startups with subscription revenue through Stripe.
- Founders who need board and investor reporting without a finance hire.
- Companies that want to start on software and add bookkeeping services later, or the reverse.
Limitations
Ownership change. Accrual’s acquisition of Puzzle’s accounting-firm technology and business was announced on September 2, 2026. The announcement says the direct product continues, but any system change carries some risk, and customers should watch for changes to pricing and roadmap.
Unpublished transaction limits. Starter, Core and Complete all have transaction and integration limits, because removing them is what the $360 Scale plan is for. The numbers are not published, so a business with heavy card or payout volume should get them in writing before committing.
Service plan caps. The $171 expert-reviewed tier stops at $10,000 of monthly expenses and three bookkeeping questions a month. Past that you are into the full-service tiers, which are priced by expense band.
No inventory. Like most AI-native ledgers, Puzzle is built for software and services companies, not stock-holding businesses.
Accountant familiarity. Fewer outside accountants know Puzzle than QuickBooks. If you already have a CPA, check they will work in it.
How Puzzle Compares
- Digits: the closest competitor; similar AI-native approach with a higher entry price and firm plans for accountants.
- Kick: cheaper and simpler, aimed at sole proprietors rather than venture-backed startups.
- Uplinq: a done-for-you bookkeeping and tax service rather than software you run yourself.
- QuickBooks Online: the default choice, with more features and accountants, but no built-in startup metrics.
Frequently Asked Questions
What happened to Puzzle and Accrual?
On September 2, 2026 Accrual announced it would acquire Puzzle’s accounting-firm technology and business, with Puzzle’s founder joining Accrual after closing. Terms were not disclosed. The announcement says Puzzle will continue to operate independently for startups and small businesses using its platform directly.
How much does Puzzle cost?
Software plans run from $30 to $360 a month as of September 2026, with 20% off on annual billing for Core, Complete and Scale. Bookkeeping services start at $171 a month, and migration, catch-up work and tax filing are priced separately.
Does Puzzle support accrual accounting?
Yes, on every plan including the $30 Starter plan. Puzzle keeps cash and accrual books at the same time rather than switching between them.
Which Puzzle plan includes revenue recognition?
Complete, at $120 a month. Starter and Core do not include it. Puzzle automates the schedules from Stripe, BILL, Mercury and uploaded contracts, but it does not state ASC 606 compliance on its own pages.


